Dosing of soldering paste without technical limits

Elisabeth Lenz

With the introduction of a new product at the B.B.W. Bayrischen Bohrerwerke GmbH in Büchlberg 2012 the requests to the dosing of soldering paste were even rising. A compact application with constant, precise and reproducible results with highly filled soldering paste were in demand. At this point preeflow came into play. Handling solder pastes with high viscosity, in this case 105.000 to 115.000 mPas and a solids content of 88 % w/w are posing a challenge to some dosing systems – but not to the eco-PEN.

Abrasive_Paste_Auftragen_preeflow

The micro dispensing system of preeflow is carrying its point at the hand-work place in Büchlberg against a simple time-pressure-system, because of a very quick dosing and at once a perfect accuracy as well as high reproducibility. The viscosity independent dosing of the eco-PEN is arranging for constant results and uncomplicated, manageable handling: the outcome is a perfect preeflow dosing solution. Even an auger valve couldn´t convince compared to the eco-PEN. Very high requests to accuracy of the system and the abrasiveness of the solder paste pushed the auger valve to the envelope, leading to unsatisfactory results. Only the eco-PEN is excellent in dosing high viscous and abrasive soldering paste. Working with less shear stress, process reliability and resource-efficiency the eco-PEN defies wear promotive effects of solid loaded pastes.

Lotpastenauftrag_preeflow

Since the introduction of micro dispensing with preeflow in B.B.W. Bayrischen Bohrerwerke GmbH several eco-PEN450 are dosing in three shifts without complications or changing the stator. Because of the batch size at this time the dosing is managed manually, indeed with increasing quantity the production can easily be transferred to a semi- or fully automatic assembly system. Even service intervals of the system are not often. After standing still periods of several days the dosing can easily be carried on, if sufficient protection of material outlet was given. Average grit size of 25 µm is representing 40 % of the copper-manganese-nickel soldering paste and can be dosed almost without abrasion. In summary the B.B.W. Bayrischen Bohrerwerke GmbH is reverting to a reliable, resource-efficient eco-PEN system for more than 3 years, which is day-to-day in constant use.

Benefits and advantages:

  • Very attractive price-performance-ratio
  • Handy & uncomplicated use
  • Long-lasting system with minimal wear
  • Process reliability & resource-efficiency
  • Straightforward integration in automated processes possible
  • Easily & intuitive operated
  • Processing of highly abrasive pastes

Dosieren von Lotpasten ohne technische Grenzen

Elisabeth LenzAllgemein

Mit der Einführung eines neuen Produktes der B.B.W. Bayrischen Bohrerwerke GmbH in Büchlberg 2012 stiegen die Anforderungen an die Dosierung von Lotpaste. Eine kompakte Anwendung, die konstante, präzise und reproduzierbare Ergebnisse mit hochgefüllter Lotpaste liefert, wurde gefordert. An diesem Punkt kam der preeflow eco-PEN ins Spiel. Die hohe Viskosität von 105.000-115.000 mPas und ein Feststoffanteil von 88 Gew.-% stellen für so manches Dosiersystem eine Herausforderung im Handling mit Lotpaste dar ─ nicht aber für den eco-PEN.

Abrasive_Paste_Auftragen_preeflow

Der Mikrodispenser von preeflow setzte sich am Handarbeitsplatz in Büchlberg gegen ein einfaches Zeit-Druck-System, auf Grund der schnellen Dosierung und perfekten Genauigkeit sowie Reproduzierbarkeit durch. Die viskositätsunabhängige Dosierung des eco-PENs sorgte für konstante Ergebnisse und der unkomplizierte, handliche Umgang machten den eco-PEN zur perfekten Lösung. Auch ein Spindelventil konnte im Gegensatz zum eco-PEN nicht überzeugen. Sehr hohe Anforderungen an die Genauigkeit des Systems und die Abrasivität der Lotpaste trieben das Spindelventil an seine Grenzen, was zu einem nicht zufriedenstellenden Ergebnis führte. Nur der eco-PEN dosierte die hochviskose, abrasive Lotpaste herausragend. Scherarm, prozesssicher und zusätzlich Ressourcen schonend trotzt der eco-PEN der verschleißbegünstigenden Wirkung der feststoffbeladenen Pasten.

Lotpastenauftrag_preeflowSeit der Einführung der Mikrodispenser von preefow dosieren mehrere eco-PEN450 im 3 Schichtbetrieb bei der B.B.W. Bayrischen Bohrerwerke GmbH ohne Komplikationen und ohne Stator Tausch. Auf Grund der Chargengröße wird derzeit per Hand dosiert, allerdings könnte bei steigender Stückzahl problemlos auf eine halb- oder vollautomatische Fertigung umgestiegen werden. Auch die Serviceintervalle des Systems fallen sehr gering aus. Nach einem Stillstand über mehrere Tage kann die Dosierung durch ausreichenden Schutz des Materialausgangs einfach fortgeführt werden. Die mittlere Korngröße von 25 µm macht etwa 40 % der Kupfer-Mangan-Nickel Lotpaste aus und wird nahezu ohne Abrieb dosiert. Zusammenfassend greift die B.B.W. Bayrischen Bohrerwerke GmbH seit mehr als 3 Jahren auf ein verlässliches, ressourcensparendes eco-PEN System zurück, das tagtäglich ohne Verschleißerscheinungen genutzt wird.

Nutzen und Vorteile:

  • Handliche & unkomplizierte Nutzung
  • Langlebiges System mit minimalem Verschleiß
  • Prozesssicher & ressourcensparend
  • Einfach & intuitiv bedienbar
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis sehr attraktiv
  • Integration in automatisierten Prozess unkompliziert möglich
  • Verarbeitung hoch abrasiver Pasten